curtain 2

Weariness overpowers me as I
crosswalk engaged lanes on my way,
owing to the undesirable assurance to
call in on my snobbish, haughty Aunt.
My feet soon settled before
the outspread monstrous house,
standing startlingly at odds with
its bony, ghastly possessor.

The wooden door as it opens at the
thrice spur of the doorbell,
presents forth the perfect instance
of censorship disguised in
conventional phoney, welcome-smile.
Settling on the downy velvet lounge,
she pours the brunette liquid into the cup,
stirring the sugar (and the simulated courtesy);
and shooting like a speculative kid,
curious momentary glances.

The humble guise at last, relinquish the pretence,
unraveling the woman’s immutable critic genes
and articulates she, with a smirk:
“Lads, you see dear,
disfavour fleshy noses and
flattened brows, passing up even
the plump cheeks with elongated smiles;
the brisk mannish stride fails
to rapture a well-favoured man’s eyes.
And then, we can only count on the fortune’s grace!’

I reciprocate with an amiable grin,
unmoved by what she’s always remarked;
for arguing with the lady will only carve the way
for my ultimate knock down.
A few more vacuous dialogues follow,
coming only at cease with my pretext
to leave immediately for snapping up the grocery.

A familiar voice hollers out my name
whilst I ransacked my bag for the key,
goading me to fix my eyes
on a man out rightly handsome.
Drawing nearer with uncertainty,
glance-shy, cheeks-cherry;
he begins bashfully:
“Some feelings never confessed
ever since my existence here,
and ever since my heart thumped hysterically
on encountering a sight, so enchanting!
My first acquaintance with the
shiny black locks – falling over the smooth forehead,
the feminine generosity as it assisted
her new naive neighbour in the alien town,
the enthralling smile turned out by
my stargazers’ perfume
as the girlie sweet-little nose inhaled them,
prodding this uncouth bachelor heart
to surrender itself to the genteel wedding bliss!”
Amidst his intense revelation,
a memory abruptly strikes me
of the age-old dark linen curtains,
enshrouding my aunt’s windows and percepts!


© Mahak Saluja – Incredible Thoughts and Ideas, 2018.

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mahak Saluja and Incredible Thoughts and Ideas with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

Leave a comment